August 19, 1998 [part 2].

Yesterday, I gave you the first part of a letter I wrote Kyle on our 9th anniversary.  I saved the second half because it’s a pretty long letter and I didn’t want you to get exhausted.  So here’s the rest…The letter proved both prophetic and, given our recent transitions, bittersweet.  But God’s callings are sure and His gifts irrevocable.  We still have life and breath and can thus be sure He has more He wants to do in and though us.

Dear Kyle,

You are learning to be fully led by Him that you can lead others as you are yourself led.  It brings me incredible joy to watch this happen and be a part of the process.  I have two scriptures that I believe are the essence of God’s heart for you:

“And the Lord said, “Who then is the faithful and sensible steward, whom his master will put in charge of his servants, to them their rations at the proper time?  Blessed is that slave whom his master finds so doing when he comes.” (Luke 12:42-43)

“The end of all things is at hand;  therefore, be of sound judgment and sober spirit for the purpose of prayer.  Above all, keep fervent in your love for one another, because love covers a multitude of sins.  Be hospitable to one another without complaint.  As each one has received a special gift, employ it in serving one another, as good stewards of the manifold grace of God.  Whoever speaks, let him speak, as it were, the utterances of God;  whoever serves, let him do so as by the strength which God supplies;  so that in all things God may be glorified through Jesus Christ, to whom belongs the glory and dominion forever and ever. Amen.” (I Peter 4:7-11)

When I came across these during my retreat, it did not occur to me that both of these contain the concept of a steward.  As I read the definition, I was struck by how completely that describes who you are not only at GOC but in all of your life.  The word stewards in I Peter is oikonomos and means “a person who manages the domestic affairs of a family or minor, a treasurer, a chamberlain of a city…it applies to apostles and ministers of the gospel” as well.  To hold that position in your company requires that you be a person Mr. G can trust to manage his affairs with honesty, wisdom, and strong leadership.  How much more is that true of your Heavenly Father?  He has entrusted you with stewardship of our family and our ministry.  Your call is to be faithful (“certain, worthy to be believed, one believing the Gospel of Christ”) and wise (“prudent, sensible, practically wise in relationships with others”).  He trusts you.  I am proud to be your wife.

k & t 20th anniversary

With all my heart,

terra
PS So that’s the full letter.  I hope you enjoyed the look at our history as much as I did.

I learned about having a clear vision for Kyle in Larry Crabb’s Connecting.  It was important revelation for me.  It gave me language for interacting with the Lord about precisely what God was calling my husband to do and be and how I could cooperate with His plans for him.  I recommend the entire book but I’ll include the questions Crabb suggests talking with God about below.  If you’ve never written a letter like this to your husband or wife, if you can’t answer questions like these about him or her, there’s no time like the present.  Doesn’t it sound like a great summer project?

1. How has God built this person?
2. What is He wanting to release through all the joys and heartaches of this person’s life?
3. What is right now being released?
4. What strengths does this individual have that, if surrendered to God, could powerfully advance the kingdom?
5. What potential remains unrealized because of undealt-with weaknesses?
6. How does this person uniquely bless me?
7. What does that tell me about the character strengths that God is specially weaving into the fabric of this individual’s soul?

As you process these questions, keep in mind that your goal is to consider vision rather than problems and that this is not something to only think about as if you are answering a college essay exam.  Think well but also talk with his or her Maker and listen well to what He has to say about your husband or wife!

And once you’ve done this for your spouse, how about your kids–community–closest friends?

Leave a Reply

