A Sad Day

Yesterday was a hard.  The initial crisis is over and life is beginning to have some normalcy again.  Doug and Jan have continued to do everything they can to make us feel at home and welcome and we do.  We couldn’t be more grateful for them and for everyone who continues to stop by, find out the best ways to be helpful, bring meals, send encouraging messages, etc.

kyle's birthday cheesecake

the table set for torey's birthday dinner

barnes waiting for kyle in the entry way

But yesterday I just wanted to go home.  I wanted to walk up the steps to my amazing study and sit down at my desk and work on the chapter for that day.  I wanted to make a cup of coffee with that beloved coffee maker.  I wanted to see Barnes curled up in his little green bed next to my desk.  I wanted to look out the window at the oak trees next to the deck.  I missed my home.

I mentioned this to the (facebook & twitter) world and received a flurry of loving responses by email, text, etc.  I am so thankful to have friends who stop and pray when someone is hurting.  It was so comforting to know people understood and truly were mourning with me.  Thank you all!  My sweet mom’s comment impacted me most.  It was simultaneously comforting and convicting.  She asked simply, “Do you think Abraham and Sarah felt this way?”  THAT is the right question.  It was just what I needed to hear.  Of course they felt that way.  But they knew that God had a better home and a better city for them.  They knew that even though the Father had taken so much and was waiting so long to do what He had promised that He was faithful.  They knew they weren’t alone.  Thanks, mom.

And I came across this when I was reading yesterday:

“At that time, declares the LORD, I will be the God of all the clans of Israel, and they shall be my people.  Thus says the LORD:  The people who survived the sword found grace in the wilderness; when Israel sought for rest, the LORD appeared to him from far away.  I have loved you with an everlasting love; therefore I have continued my faithfulness to you.  Again I will build you and you shall be built, o virgin Israel!

Again you shall adorn yourself with tambourines and shall go forth in the dance of the merrymakers. Again you shall plant vineyards on the mountains of Samaria; the planters shall plant and shall enjoy the fruit.”
Jeremiah 31:1-5

I’m so glad to know THAT kind of God.  Israel had lost their way just before this and many other times.  But while He would allow them to be disciplined, He never forgot them.  He never stopped loving them.  He never took morbid pleasure in smiting them.  Instead, He wept when they endured the natural outcome of their rebellion.  He held His breath with excitement until the day He could welcome them back home.  He was willing to allow suffering when it was needed for their growth and to lead them to repentance but He couldn’t wait to show mercy.  That is the God I serve!

Leave a Reply

