Oddly Comforted

The last few years have been rough for my family and me.  I was with a friend yesterday who said it it has gone on long enough that it should no longer be called a season but a stage.  This was oddly comforting–it felt good to have someone acknowledge with love and compassion that what we have experienced is uniquely hard. Do you know what I mean?

Anyhow, as the first anniversary of the fire approaches (it’s next week) and as we have just had to face the heart-breaking decision to delay (maybe forever) our long awaited adoption, God is reminding me of a few things many tears later.  First, I’m not imagining this Job season–I mean, ‘stage.’  It has been excruciating to have every part of my life dumped out and mixed up and restarted.  And two, while I see more clearly than ever that there is an enemy who wants to utterly destroy me and my family, I see God not leaving.  He isn’t delivering yet but He is here.  And for now, that’s enough.

“Many times they have persecuted me from my youth up,”
Let Israel now say,
“Many time they have persecuted me from my youth up;
Yet they have not prevailed against me.
“The plowers plowed upon my back;
They lengthened their furrows.”
The LORD is righteous:
He has cut in two the cords of the wicked.
Psalm 129:1-4

…we are afflicted in every way, but not crushed; perplexed but not despairing; persecuted, but not forsaken; struck down, but not destroyed…
II Corinthians 4:8-9

So, yeah, God is good.  But that doesn’t mean we aren’t ready for a new stage of life to begin.  Will you pray that it will?

8 thoughts on “Oddly Comforted

  1. i think about you and your family a lot and need to do a better job keeping in touch. love y’all, and praying.

Leave a Reply

